For the last few days I have found myself thinking about confidence.  Confidence.  What is it?  Who has it?  If you don't have it, how do you get it?  Where does it come from, and when we lose it, where does it go?

My title today comes from the song that Maria sings in "The Sound of Music."  She is on her way to meet the Baron and his children and become their nanny.  She is afraid that she will have no idea what to do, and it turns out that she is right.  The children quickly learn how easy it is to trick and tease and tantalize her.

I looked up the word "confidence" to see where it comes from in our language.  Basically, it means, "with faith."  When you live or act with confidence, you live and act with faith.  But faith in who or what?  Is it faith in God?  Is it faith in myself?  Is it faith in circumstances or skills?  How do we gain confidence in our lives?

Maria plunges head first into her new life with the Von Trapp children and the Baron.  She stumbles and she bumbles through life day by day.  But when the thunderstorm strikes, the children come to her.  When Lisle thinks her father does understand her interest in a boy, she goes to Maria.  Even the Baron comes to Maria when he is perplexed.  Slowly, Maria does become the confident one, the one who know the reasons and the answers.

Confidence comes from being present.  Confidence comes in the middle of living life.  Confidence comes as the sun rises each day, and I rise to meet the life that the sun brings.  Confidence comes as I live and love those around me each day.   Simple, yes.  Easy, no.

Let's face the day together tomorrow.  As the sun rises, let us rise and live our lives fully and with love.





Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My passions in life are simple.  I must create, I must have fun, I am always learning, and I love to be with children.

    I love God and am always learning new ways of seeing and understanding God in my life and in the world.

    I live with husband, Steve, and our two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels, Molly and Duke, in Centennial, Colorado.

    I have three grown daughters that live across the country now:  Elizabeth lives in Indiana, Judith lives in Illinois, and Kimberly lives in Kentucky.   

    Archives

    February 2012
    October 2011

    Categories

    All
    Confidence
    Love
    Sound Of Music