This week Steve and I enjoyed watching the Westminster Dog Show on television.  It was a joy to watch those beautiful creatures and their handlers compete for the best of breed and the best of show awards.  There are so many different colors and shapes and sizes of dogs, I am amazed.  Each of them has a special job to do and a special way they enhance our lives.

I have been blessed by several dogs in my life.  When I was a young girl we had "Bebe."  She was a golden Cocker Spaniel and Puli (Hungarian Sheep Dog) mix.  I named her after Captain Kangaroo's big English Sheepdog.  She was a happy dog and loved to travel with our family.  The first dog I owned as an adult was "Maggie,"  who was sometimes affectionately called, "Mag the Rag."  She was a white peekapoo with just a few black markings.  She lived with my parents while I was in seminary and then came and lived with me until my youngest was born.  By then, she was old and having trouble moving around.  Lovingly, we had her put down.

Since then, "Gabby" (a rat-terrier), "Max" (a BIG black lab), and "Jack" (a terrier/chihuahua mix) have blessed me with their love for life and their love.  I especially remember how Max used to howl (sing!) whenever we made music in the house.

Now I am blessed with Duke and Molly, two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels.  They are loving and affectionate and important members of our family.  When students come to the house for lessons, Molly and Duke are always ready to greet them.  After a few hugs and "kisses" they each settle down for the lesson.  Usually Molly is on the couch behind me, and Duke is under the piano bench.

We don't usually think of dogs with music, but I know that all of my dogs have been gracious listeners and receivers of my music.  Their patience comes through





Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My passions in life are simple.  I must create, I must have fun, I am always learning, and I love to be with children.

    I love God and am always learning new ways of seeing and understanding God in my life and in the world.

    I live with husband, Steve, and our two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels, Molly and Duke, in Centennial, Colorado.

    I have three grown daughters that live across the country now:  Elizabeth lives in Indiana, Judith lives in Illinois, and Kimberly lives in Kentucky.   

    Archives

    February 2012
    October 2011

    Categories

    All
    Confidence
    Love
    Sound Of Music