Today is Tuesday, February 21st.  It is Mardi Gras, Shrove Tuesday, Fat Tuesday, or Pancake Day, depending on you and your traditions.  But what is it all about?

For many in the Christian tradition, tomorrow will be Ash Wednesday, the beginning of Lent.  Historically Lent has been a time for "giving up" things that are enjoyable.  Lent was a time for remembering the suffering of Christ and being solemn.  Thus the women of a household would clear the kitchen of rich foods and serve them on Tuesday night.  Pancakes and meats were served.  There were parties and celebrations before the period of Lent began.

I began to think, "How will this day be reflected in my music?"  "Will there be any experience of Lent in music or my art?"  In recent times, many people have considered Lent as an opportunity to add to their lives, rather than a time to take away.  How will I add to my music life in these coming weeks?  Tonight, my church is having a talent show with their Shrove Tuesday Pancake Supper.  I have seldom participated in talent shows.  Tonight I will sing, "The Colors of the Wind" from Disney's Pocahontas.  But the question of real significance is how will I add to my creative life.  

I am making a commitment to keep my 3 journals handy.   Sometimes I call them my "brain books."  One is for drawing, one is for ideas, and one is for music.  Everyday I will write.  I may sketch the changing scene from my front window or I may record a tune I hum.  But I commit to recording that which the Spirit creates within me.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My passions in life are simple.  I must create, I must have fun, I am always learning, and I love to be with children.

    I love God and am always learning new ways of seeing and understanding God in my life and in the world.

    I live with husband, Steve, and our two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels, Molly and Duke, in Centennial, Colorado.

    I have three grown daughters that live across the country now:  Elizabeth lives in Indiana, Judith lives in Illinois, and Kimberly lives in Kentucky.   

    Archives

    February 2012
    October 2011

    Categories

    All
    Confidence
    Love
    Sound Of Music